Lesson #6: Pentatonic Lick

The PDF file for this lesson is here:

Pentatonic Lick

I think this lick was indirectly inspired by something I once saw Eric Johnson teach or play. I don’t really listen Mr. Johnson’s music too much but I recollect him demonstrating something that was similarly sequential. This lick has probably been one of the most useful devices I have used in my own personal technical development in the blues/rock idiom. 

Tips for implementing this lick into your playing

By itself, this lick is less of an actual musical phrase and more of a tehnical exercise. The purpose of it is to develop pull-off technique and aquire the ability to double up/sequence fast phrases. 

 1) The lick is presented here in the most common pentatonic position but the pattern should be applied and permutated in all 5 positions. 

2) Of course, the player should apply these sequences to every position in all 12 keys as soon as possible. 

3) Move sequences through the scale in all possible directions veritcally and horizontally.

4) Try adding the (b5) to these sequences 

5) Limit the use of the 4th finger whenever possible in order to play as fluidly.

Categories: Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments

  1. Hey man i’m really digging these videos and just watching you play guitar is a treat !
    I do have a question about the opening ((and closing) llittle solo you riffle off though.

    It just looks like your opening lick is in A# pentatonic, then you play something in A, and then you play something in D and then start playing in E.

    I know its probably a I IV V in A but I still don’t get some of the changes or that A# you open with ??

    Thanks a lot for your time and I really hope to see more of these videos – some of the best lessons ive seen on the net.

    Thanks,
    MIKE

  2. wonderful site you have here very inspiring i do play guitar and here lately ive been trying to understand music rather than learning songs where would you suggested to start do you have videos for people like myself

Leave a comment