An Improvised Life Podcast

animprovisedlifelogo

An Improvised Life is Jazz Podcast that focuses on the Philosophy, History, and Educational aspects of Jazz from a teacher’s perspective.

*Click on episode titles to view and download episodes. 

Ep.1-Wynton Marsalis

In this premier episode I discuss the book, Moving to Higher Ground by Wynton Marsalis. I also play a track off of Wynton’s seminal 1985 album, Black Codes From the Underground.

Ep.2-From the Woodshed Volume 1

In this episode I discuss importance of keeping a practice journal. I also read some words from Saxophonist Dave Liebman. I also play “All of Me” off of Liebman’s 2014 album, Tenor +. Click here for Practice Journal Excerpts

Ep. 3-Who’s Overrated? Who’s Underrated? Part 1

In this episode I discuss a controversial article from Jazztimes. I also play selections form Walt Weiskopf, The Art Ensemble of Chicago, and Betty Carter. Finally, I put together a playlist that includes 13 albums.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

