Pat Metheny’s Solo on “Solar” From the album Question and Answer…

Here’s the most ridiculous thing I have ever transcribed. It’s Pat Metheny’s Solo on the Miles Davis classic “Solar.” It appears on “Question and Answer” and features Dave Holland on bass and Roy Haynes on drums. I am sure that this transcription is 100% correct because I have since checked it against a couple of other “official versions.” I went to great lengths to provide an accurate transcription. Every slur (slide) and inflection is accounted for. This solo was the key piece of music that my jazz approach is built upon. Metheny’s Legato technique, passing tone lines, and linear approach. Sometime in the near future, I will select a key lick from the solo and do a full lesson on it. I hope you get as much out of it as I did. Enjoy.-Tone

Here’s the PDF file of the solo:
Pat Metheny’s “Solar” solo.

5 thoughts on “Pat Metheny’s Solo on “Solar” From the album Question and Answer…

Leave a Reply

